School Building

Reopening St. Stephen's

The coronavirus pandemic necessitates a new approach to teaching and learning at St. Stephen’s. Our approach is based on these principles:

  • honoring our core values: care, integrity, creativity, independence, and scholarship
  • prioritizing student, employee, and family well-being
  • emphasizing personal responsibility

We have spent much of the spring and early summer making plans for re-opening. We have consulted numerous organizations, including the Council of International Schools, The Association of Boarding Schools, the Mediterranean Association of International Schools, the National Association of Independent Schools, and, locally, the Rome International Schools’ Association. We have also formed a Medical Advisory Team, composed of four doctors here in Rome, two of whom are epidemiologists. Based on this extensive consultation, we can now share plans for reopening, which are in full compliance with the Italian decree.

Please check this page periodically for updates, which will be added in bold.

Frequently Asked Questions

Contacts at St. Stephen's

 

Academic Issues

Deborah Dostert, Assistant Head for Academic Affairs 
(all matters concerning your child's academic program)
deborah.dostert@sssrome.it

 

Alex Wreth, Assistant Head for Teaching and Learning
(if your child will not be able to attend school in-person next week due to travel restrictions, email Mr. Wreth for remote learning permission)
alex.wreth@sssrome.it

 

International Baccalaureate Programme

Nadia El-Taha, IB Coordinator
(questions about your child's IB program may be directed to Ms. El Taha)
nadia.el-taha@sssrome.it

 

Boarding

Mike Mottola, Head of Boarding

(all boarding related queries may be sent to Mr. Mottola)
mike.mottola@sssrome.it

 

 

Student Services & Support

Viktorija Podagelyte, Dean of Students
(attendance issues and student services are followed up on by Ms. Podagelyte)
viktorija.podagelyte@sssrome.it

 

Health

Mandy Patton, School Nurse
(all health and COVID-related questions may be directed to Ms. Patton)
mandy.patton@sssrome.it

 

IT/School Portal

Fausto DiMarco, Head of IT and Sports Director

(for help in navigating the School's internal portal, please email Mr. DiMarco)
fausto.dimarco@sssrome.it

 

Fees & Tuition

Grazia Borlandelli, Business Manager
(questions concerning billing? Email Ms, Borlandelli)
business.manager@sssrome.it